Updated at 18:53,10-09-2021

Belarus and Argentina abolish visas starting 19 May


Belarus and Argentina abolish visas starting 19 May
Buenos Aires. Photo: tonkosti.ru
Mutual visa-free entry between Belarus and Argentina will come into force starting 19 May, the embassy of Belarus in Argentina reported.

“Visa-free entry for citizens of the Argentine Republic opens on 19 May, 2017,” a note on the embassy’s website reads.

“Argentinian citizens who are holders of general civil passports can enter, transit and temporarily stay in the territory of Belarus without a visa for a period not exceeding 90 days from the date of the first entry during a calendar year”.

The same rule applies to Belarusian citizens travelling to Argentina.

Earlier, Argentina was among the 80 countries whose citizens can enter Belarus visa-free for a period of up to 5 days since January 2017.

At the same time, Belarus and Argentina have agreed to retain the right to refuse entry to citizens of the other state or shorten their period of stay in case such persons are considered undesirable or pose a threat to public security or order.

The agreement on visa-free travel between the two countries was signed in Minsk in October 2016. The document’s ratification, however, took some time: Belarusian MPs ratified it only in April 2017.

From now on, Belarusian citizens can enter five South American countries without a visa –Argentina, Brazil (for up to 90 days), Ecuador (for up to 30 days), Peru (for up to 183 days for tourism) and Venezuela (for up to 90 days).

Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador and Venezuela can also enter Belarus visa-free, while citizens of Peru have to apply for a visa.