Updated at 14:48,20-09-2021

Belarus to ratify visa-free travel agreement with argentina


Belarus to ratify visa-free travel agreement with argentina
Belarusian MPs plan to ratify an intergovernmental agreement with Argentina on mutual visa-free travel for citizens, the media report.

The document between the governments of Belarus and Argentina was signed in Minsk in October 2016.

It specifies that the citizens of the two states can enter, leave, transit and temporary stay on the territory of the other state without a visa for a period not exceeding 90 calendar days (from the day of the first entry).

Politicians believe that the agreement will help to strengthen and develop cultural and business contacts. It might also boost Belarusian import to Argentina.

Besides, Argentina is home to Latin America’s biggest Belarusian diaspora which is about 2,000 people.

The biggest step to open Belarus to foreign tourists was made last month: the country allowed 5-day visa-free travel for citizens of 80 states, including the EU, the USA, and Canada starting 12 February 2017.

In 2016 Grodno and Augustow Canal park in western Belarus were turned into a visa-free zones for trips of up to 5 days. A year earlier visa-free entry was allowed to Bialowieza Forest national park.

In January 2017, the country lowered the cost of long-term visas for Europeans and introduced double-entry visas for foreigners residing in Belarus.