Updated at 14:13,24-01-2022

Belarus And UAE Sign Mutual Visa-Free Entry


Belarus And UAE Sign Mutual Visa-Free Entry
The Ambassador of Belarus to the UAE Andrei Luchenok and the Deputy Foreign Minister of the UAE Ahmed al-Jarman. Photo: mfa.gov.by
Belarus has signed a document on the establishment of a visa-free regime with the United Arab Emirates, the Belarus Foreign Ministry reports.

On Monday, 24 June, the parties signed amendments to the agreement between Belarus and the UAE on the mutual abolition of visas for holders of diplomatic, service and special passports.

In accordance with the document, the citizens of Belarus – the owners of valid national passports – will be able to visit the United Arab Emirates without a visa.

The protocol will enter into force 30 days after its ratification by the parliaments of the two countries. At present, Belarusians can travel without a visa to more than 40 countries.

The Global Passport Power Rank 2018 ranked Belarus passport as the 57th most powerful in the world. The UAE has the world’s most powerful passport with access to 167 countries visa-free.

Recall that in February 2017, Belarus introduced a five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countries, a year later it was extended to 30 days.

The diplomatic relations between Belarus and the UAE were established on in 1992. Belarus opened its embassy in the UAE in 1999, the UAE embassy in Minsk was opened in 2008.

Last week Belarus offered Bosnia and Herzegovina to sign a visa-free travel agreement for holders of ordinary passports. The visa waiver already applies to diplomatic and service passports holders.

Belarus Prime Minister Sergei Rumas and Chairman of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina Milorad Dodik discussed the issue in Minsk on Thursday, 20 June.