Updated at 18:49,15-10-2021

Belarus And Russia Sign Agreement On Mutual Visa Recognition


Belarus And Russia Sign Agreement On Mutual Visa Recognition
Foreign Ministers Vladimir Makei and Sergey Lavrov signed the agreement on mutual recognition of visas between Belarus and Russia in Minsk on Friday, 19 June.

Belarusian Foreign Minister Vladimir Makei explained that the document provides for full mutual recognition of national visas and other documents related to the entry and stay of foreign nationals.

“Now foreign citizens have the opportunity to visit both countries with the national visa of one of them. Thus, the agreement removes the problems of third-country nationals crossing the Belarusian-Russian land border,” said Makei.

Under the agreement, foreign citizens with a Belarusian visa will be able to freely enter Russia and, vice versa, holders of Russian visas will be allowed to enter Belarus. Foreign visitors will reportedly be able to travel by air, rail and car.

Sergey Lavrov noted that the agreement is aimed at creating a single integration space of Belarus and Russia. Recall that the work on the agreement on the mutual recognition of Belarusian and Russian visas has been ongoing for more than two years.