Updated at 14:13,24-01-2022

How to get to Belarus' Augustow Canal area without visa


Foreigners will be given a special document designed for visa-free visits to Augustow Canal area, according to the Regulation No 827 on the rules of visits by foreign citizens to the tourism and recreation park "Augustow Canal" and surrounding areas for the period of 5 days approved by the Council of Ministers on October 17, 2016.

In order to enter Belarus for the period of up to 5 days, a foreign citizen must have the following in possession:
- a valid passport (or any other valid foreign travel document);
- a document issued by a travel agent entitling the holder to visiting the Augustow Canal (a standard form is described in the Regulation No 827);
- money (BYN 42 or $22 per day).

The Augustow Canal can be entered from Poland via the border posts Liasnaja (Rudauka) and Bruzgi (Kuznia Białystocka) and from Lithuania via the border posts Pryvalka (Sviendubre) and Pryvalka (Raigardas).

In the document from a travek agent, the latter will mention the visitor's full name, the date of burth, citizenship (nationality), passport details and gender. Foreign tourists are expected to provide this information to a travel agent in writing or electronically. The border control officials in Belarus must receive the personal details of persons holding the entry document not later than 24 hours before the date of expected entry into Belarus.

The lost document can be replaced with a duplicate also issused by the travel agent. When a visitor has realized that he or she has lost thi document, he or she shall report to the nearest police station.

Foreign tourists visiting the Augustow Canal area without a visa must exit Belarus before the 5-day visa-free period expires. In case of natural disasters, accidents or emergencies, illnesses, health conditions or other unforseen circumstances, the period of temporary stay and registration can be extended but a visa will be issued to a tourist.

The execution of the regulation will be implemented by the Interior Ministry of Belarus in coordination with the Border Control Agency, State Security Committee and Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Visitors who have stayed without a visa for more than 5 days will be subjected to administrative punishment.

The Regulation will come into force on October 26, 2016. It will be in effect through December 31, 2017 with possible extention, reports the state news agency BelTA.