Updated at 15:00,06-02-2023

Eurasian Economic Union abolishes import duties on electric cars


Cutsoms duties on the imports of electric cars into the member countries of Euroasian Economic Union (EEU) have been abolished till August 31, 2017. The resolution of the Eurasian Economic Commission, effective from September 2, 2016, aims to boost the market of electric vehicles in EEU (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia).

The duty on elecrtic cars has been reduced from 17% down to 0%, on trucks with the total weight of up to 5 tons - from 15% down to 5%. The resolution does not cover hybrid and hybrid/plugin vehicles, reports BelPAN.

Eurasian Economic Commission officials note that the market of electric vehicles in EEU member countries remains sensitive to price. The 0% import duty in electric vehicle was effective from February 1, 2014 through December 31, 2015 when 684 electric cars were imported from the United States, China and Japan. This year when the duties were increased only 28 vehicles were imported.

The lower duties on electric cars are expected to stimulate the use of environment-friendly transport on the territory of this economic union