Updated at 00:49,24-06-2021

Switzerland Joins EU Sanctions Against 40 Belarusian Officials


Switzerland Joins EU Sanctions Against 40 Belarusian Officials
Photo: Reuters
Switzerland has joined the EU sanctions against Belarus, according to the website of the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs of the country.

The country has joined the sanctions against 40 Belarusian officials responsible for the fraudulent nature of the presidential elections and the violent crackdown on peaceful protests. The measures took effect on 13 October. Recall that on 2 October, the EU published a sanctions list with the names of 40 Belarusian individuals. Among them are security forces leadership (representatives of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and the KGB) and members of the CEC.

Personal sanctions were imposed, including a ban on entry into the EU and the freezing of assets within the jurisdiction. Then Alexander Lukashenko was not included in the sanctions list, “since this would undermine the demand of Brussels to start a dialogue with the opposition through the mediation of the OSCE and to release political prisoners”.

On 12 October, the EU announced that it is considering the possibility of expanding sanctions against Belarus, including against Alexander Lukashenko, if the situation in the country does not improve. The European Council reiterated that the 9 August presidential elections were neither free nor fair and that Alexander Lukashenko lacks any democratic legitimacy.

The Council reiterated its full support for Belarus’s sovereignty and independence and underlined the democratic right of the Belarusian people to elect their president through new, free and fair elections, without external interference. It condemned the violence employed by the authorities against peaceful protesters, and called for the release of all arbitrarily detained persons, including political prisoners.